top of page

PRACTICE THE PRESENCE




I know this long post.

It has a front story to help me get to the point.

I know if you read to the end, you will be blessed.

I have noticed that many times in my horse training experience, I can often get something accomplished with ease and in a short amount of time with a horse which the owner has been struggling with. Then when the owner gets back on the horse, they continue to struggle with it.


This often causes them to feel discouraged. I always try to encourage them that I am not better than they are. I just have more experience and I practice a lot. In fact, just yesterday in a conversation with a friend, she said, "You ride more in a month than I do in a year."

Now I am not putting anyone down who does not have much time to ride their horse. I am simply making a point, that the more you practice the better you get.

Olympians and concert pianist understand this.


Now I am going to relate this to Jesus, so keep reading.


Lately I have been listening to T.L. Osborn videos on healing from years ago. They are so good. His preaching is still relevant today, because the Word of God is alive and active. I wish I had known about his teaching years ago when I first got saved. I guess better late than never.

One thing he said that stood out to me was, "Practice the Presence of Jesus!"

I thought, "HMMMM, that is a great idea."


I have a deep desire to be an authentic believer. I am always pursuing a closer relationship with Jesus, and my one and only goal for the year 2022 is to BE more like Him.

This "practicing His presence" was something I could see we all need and could benefit from. After thinking about this for a long while and talking with the Lord about it I could see how when we totally commit and indulge in this new experience of "practicing the presence of Jesus" it will take us to new beginnings of living life on the highest level. It may even be completely different than how we envision it.

I think it may deal with having the truth of the Word become a reality in our lives. There's a big difference between believing something is true and experiencing something as real.

I mean most Christians believe Jesus is alive and know that we belong to Him. But He also wants to be our friend and companion every moment of every day.


The picture I have in my mind now is the difference between admiring the beauty of the horse you own while he lives in a corral and having a partnership where you ride together on a daily basis in unity and harmony with joy and peace.

Scripture tells us how much God loves us and how special we are to him. This has to get from our head to our heart. But this fact may not deeply impact our heart until we have a real love encounter with Jesus and began to "practice his presence."


Friends, I pray you begin to hear the voice of our Savior and friend affirming his love for you not based on you doing anything but being his friend.

That's the big difference between changing and transformation. Change requires effort and trying or earning to be okay. But transformation requires letting God love you for who you are and receiving that affirmation without trying to change to earn that love.

Now you may be asking how do we "practice the presence of Jesus?"

A couple of years ago a man name Bruce Allen came to our church for a conference. He suggested what I am about to share with you. I believe it is a simple and practical way to get started.

He said he made the Savior real by imagining him sitting in the chair next to him or in the passenger seat while driving. He just started talking to him eye to eye as though he were his friend.

When I heard that I decided to jump right in. I began visualizing Jesus riding on a horse next to me as I was riding... or walking with me on walks. etc.

I visualized what he would look like and how he would speak to me. This became a habit, and I could not get enough of it. The friendship was developed and nurtured day after day.

To me "practicing the presence" is finding space, a place for him daily. Maybe first thing in the morning before you even get out of bed and then throughout the day whether it be imagining him in the car sitting next to you or on your horse riding down the trail together or playing with your grandchildren.

My desire is for him to be involved in my daily life and to acknowledge his presence in the good and the bad knowing that everything is okay because he is there. He is as much alive today as he was with Peter and the disciples when they were on the beach cooking fish.

"Practicing the presence of Jesus" is something that takes a little discipline just like building a relationship with your horse or a friendship with anyone else.

It requires learning about them by asking sincere questions, sincerely listening and hearing with your heart.

My prayer for you is that you will be freed to live life on the highest level in the simplicity of a friendship with Jesus. And that as you begin to "practice His presence" you will be blessed beyond measure. I know you will!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

20201212_154830[2858] (2).jpg

I believe you must bring your whole self to the table if you want to thrive in today’s crazy world; your personality, your sense of humor, and most importantly, your heart. All of these elements brought me to start Natural Spunk N Shine where I help women in the 2nd half of life, be spunkier,  shine brighter and dream bigger.  Ever since I launched this project, the blog has been thriving and has quickly gained a loyal following. To see what I’ve been up to, browse my site, learn about my passions, and explore what excites and interests you as well.

#SPUNKNSHINE

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page