top of page

Beyond the Surface


Going beyond surface Christianity, is a journey.

As we are discipled we become active disciples who then disciple others.


Back in 1982 I repented and believed on the name of Jesus his death on the cross and resurrection. By grace my sins were forgiven. I knew I was saved from the pit of hell and that after I die I would go to heaven.


I became a new creation in an instant and Jesus came to reside in me. For a long time that was enough. I was happy and grateful to be loved and saved from God's wrath.

I didn't know there was more.


People called me a Christian, a born-again believer, or even the title of disciple may have been used. On the inside I may have been a disciple. But it didn't show on the outside for quite some time, because I didn't know what a disciple was or even what they looked like. It was hidden and needed to be uncovered and discovered.


I was like an onion sitting on the counter unused. All the power and aroma that can add flavor is already in the onion. Before it can me smelled and tasted the skin has to be peeled back in order to reveal what is inside.


When Jesus came into my heart all of His power and everything, I needed to live a godly life was in me. Everything I needed to be like Him was in there. It was already in me. However, I didn't know how to tap into it, or even that I needed to, until I was discipled by someone who recognized that I was still a babe just sitting on the counter waiting to be unwrapped and used by God.


In fact, it took several years and more than one disciple mentoring me alongside the Holy Spirit before enough layers peeled back that the hidden aroma of a disciple started to be recognizable. It was then I began to walk in the power and love that was all the time inside of me. I am still learning and growing in this love and power that is inside of me.


Most new believers are eager to become like Jesus. There comes a time when we want to grow in maturity and Christ-like character. That’s commendable- it should be every believer’s desire. The problem is that we want it to be instantaneous. However, our transformation is an ongoing process. We need to be patient and give ourselves time to renew our mind by the Word and be taught by the Holy Spirit.


As we begin to peel back the layers of self and renew our minds in the Word the power of God which was there all along, begins to come forth in a more tangible and usable way. Then we start looking and acting more like a true disciple of Christ.


Being a disciple requires submission to the Word of God and to the conviction of the Holy Spirit. For the longest time I didn't know there even was a requirement. Why? Because I had not been discipled. I am not blaming anyone, not even God. But my ignorance of the scriptures left me as an onion sitting on the shelf unwrapped and unused with all of God's power and love on the inside of me just waiting to be revealed.

I had no idea it was there or that I could access it and actually, use it for His Kingdom.


Thank God, He has given us the Holy Spirit. He will show us areas that need to be peeled back. If He were to show us everything at once, we might become so overwhelmed and dejected that we give up.


It’s like peeling an onion. God reveals these things in layers- bit by bit. As each layer is dealt with progress is made and we take one step closer to not just being a disciple of Jesus but being like our master - Jesus.


Some may even judge us seeing our progress as going too slow. At first it may seem like progress is only made in inches instead of feet or yards. I know I got a really slow start. I am grateful my mentors and my Lord never gave up on me. Now it seems like I am moving miles at a time instead of inches.


No matter what your speed is when we cooperate with God by getting in His Word, praying in the Spirit, and obeying His instruction we will begin to notice more and more transformation. We will be taking on His flavor and character. Isn't that what a disciple does? He becomes more and more like His Master.


The work of transformation is not our work. All we have to do is allow God to revamp us. Don't get in a big hurry but don't get stagnant either. Keep moving forward little by little and soon you will be taking giant steps.

Never feel condemned because you haven't arrived yet.


Don’t get discouraged and don’t be impatient with yourself or the process. I made that mistake many times.

That's where the person and Holy Spirit who are discipling you come in. They uplift and bring you encouragement. As long as you are in the process progress is being made. Relax and let God work.


So, have faith in God be patient with yourself and transformation will come. When we quit trying to change ourselves and just enjoy our relationship with our heavenly Father transformation happens.


How foolish can you be?

After starting your new lives in the Spirit, why are you now trying to become perfect by your own human effort?

Have you experienced so much for nothing?

Surely it was not in vain, was it?

I ask you again, does God give you the Holy Spirit and work miracles among you because you obey the law?

Of course not!

It is because you believe the message you heard about Christ. In the same way, “Abraham believed God, and God counted him as righteous because of his faith.”

The real children of Abraham, then, are those who put their faith in God. Galatians 3:3-7 NLT

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

20201212_154830[2858] (2).jpg

I believe you must bring your whole self to the table if you want to thrive in today’s crazy world; your personality, your sense of humor, and most importantly, your heart. All of these elements brought me to start Natural Spunk N Shine where I help women in the 2nd half of life, be spunkier,  shine brighter and dream bigger.  Ever since I launched this project, the blog has been thriving and has quickly gained a loyal following. To see what I’ve been up to, browse my site, learn about my passions, and explore what excites and interests you as well.

#SPUNKNSHINE

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page