top of page

Still Lord? there is something for me to do? (even in my old age?)


Need help with a plan for your next chapter?

Here is a 3 step plan for the next chapter of life.

This year I turned 63.

How could I be over 50?

I mean the senior citizens’ group at most churches begins at age 50. I can’t retire and draw Social Security at age 50; why should I be considered a senior citizen?

After half-a-century we begin to ponder life?


We ask questions like:

Have I really already accomplished the best of what I could do?

Is it downhill from here?

Maybe my opportunities to make a mark are over?

Have I outlived my usefulness and productivity?

Is it time to let someone younger take over my duties?

Am I through? Can You still use me, Lord?

Do you mull over these kind of thoughts?

I do... so I asked the Lord for wisdom.


Joshua 13:1 : “Now Joshua was old and stricken in years; and the Lord said unto him, ‘Thou are old and stricken in years, and there remaineth yet very much land to be possessed.’”

I wasn’t sure about “old and stricken”, but through His words, the Lord began to stir in my heart the truth that there remains much to do.


Psalm 92: 14 confirms this: “They shall still bring forth fruit in old age…”


The words of the Lord changed my mindset.

I may be 63, but I’m not washed up. I have a lot to offer!

Now I needed to plan for the next chapters of life.

I began to decide where I wanted to go, and what I wanted to do.

How about you?


If you’re starting a new chapter in your life...you probably feel excited, nervous and scared. I totally get it, because I felt the same way. A part of me wonders what it’s going to be like? Is the Best Yet to Come?

What practical steps you can take to start your new chapter in life.

I go over this in more detail in my coaching program The Best Is Yet To Come...


Create a vision for a new chapter in a new life. the Bible says "My people perish for a lack of vision"

Prepare for your vision to turn into reality before it does. When you take real action so your vision will manifest, you’re sending a powerful message of faith that you believe it’s coming and you’re ready and prepared to receive it.


Create new habits that match your new life. Throughout the years, I noticed that it was much easier to create new habits in times of change.

Get support as you step into your new life. Get support from a coach or mentor to help you expand your mindset and take new, massive action aligned with your new vision. (That is where my coaching program can help you)

Say “no” to someone/something that doesn’t fit your new life..


HERE is my three part strategic plan for the next chapter of life.


STEP #1 Health is the first plan on my mind. I thank the Lord that I’m still healthy, but I want to stay that way. I try to walk daily—gotta keep active. Relatives in my family became diabetic at my age; I don’t want to go there, so I’ve cut way back on sugar. With age comes wisdom of taking better care of our bodies. If I’ve got to be a senior citizen, I want to be a healthy, fit one!

What are you doing for your health?



Step #2 Dreams are a second priority in the plan. I’ve always been a dreamer, but now it’s time to do something about those dreams. For years I’ve thought I’d like to write, after my first book was published in 2009 other than blogging I set aside my dream of writing more books.

Now’s the time to make it a priority. I’m going to fulfill those goals, and act on those dreams. What are your dreams?

Step 3 My final priority for the next chapter of life... is imparting some of my hard-earned wisdom to those coming along behind me. Just recently a young woman came to me for advice and counsel. Not only did I sit and talk and pray with her, but I followed up to see how she was. I want to be truly involved in the lives of others helping them along their journeys. There are both younger and older women to whom I can minister. They need me— with years of life experience. They need us... You too are needed by someone... You have something unique to offer... so find what that is and who it is that needs you... because you are very valuable.

I’m still learning how to be over 60, but I’m no longer discouraged about it. It’s a new challenge, and, by God’s grace, I’m up to it! I’m going to take care of my health, follow my dreams, and help others do the same. I pray you are inspired to do the same no matter what you age.

33 4 Comments 1 Share

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

20201212_154830[2858] (2).jpg

I believe you must bring your whole self to the table if you want to thrive in today’s crazy world; your personality, your sense of humor, and most importantly, your heart. All of these elements brought me to start Natural Spunk N Shine where I help women in the 2nd half of life, be spunkier,  shine brighter and dream bigger.  Ever since I launched this project, the blog has been thriving and has quickly gained a loyal following. To see what I’ve been up to, browse my site, learn about my passions, and explore what excites and interests you as well.

#SPUNKNSHINE

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page