top of page

What’s Your 2023 Word of the Year?


For those of you who have been following my writing for the past couple of years...

you know that at the end of every calendar year I choose a word that will be my guiding

I got started a little late this year. Today as I write this it is January 2, 2023. \


Following my 2022 word of the year which was "BEING"...

for the past month I have been asking myself what my 2023 word was going to be.

I wasn't coming up with anything.


I thought if I looked back at my one and only goal in 2022...

which was to become more like Jesus...

I would be inspired with a new word for 2023. Still nothing!


I wanted to become less Self-centeredness and more Christ-centered this past year.

Did I achieve that? I hope so... but only God knows.


My Scriptures for 2022 were:

Ephesians 5:1-2

Therefore, be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.


1 John 2:6

Whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked.


Ephesians 4:22-24

To put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.


I wrote in my personal journal last year:

To be a Christian means to be Christlike.

It means to follow Christ in self-denial.

In the life of the true Christian self is dead...

as there was no selfishness in the life that Christ lived while on this earth.


As I look back on 2022... I realize again...

I am still a work in progress... as I am sure so are you.


And so, my lessons for 2022 were:

I need to learn how to grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord.


God’s purpose is to make us like him...before he takes us to Heaven.

This is our greatest privilege, and our immediate responsibility,

and our ultimate destiny.


Like every great moment of inspiration…

my word for 2023 suddenly came to me while I was scooping horse poop.


There is a dual fold purpose of the word I chose, it is:

to go back to the basics and watch while I wait.


In 2023, I’m choosing to make it my directive to RETURN!



Yes, that is my word "RETURN"…

I know it sounds like going backwards...

but really it is about going forward.

Remember the Israelites were to return to their promised land.

This return was definitely a step in the right direction.


By saying "RETURN" I am also saying continue to do what I already know is right.


What exactly do I want to RETURN TO?

Spiritual life

  1. The bare bones basics of the simple truth of the gospel.

  2. The foundational counsel of the Holy Spirit found alone in the scriptures.

  3. The bedrock of the prophecies fulfilled and those yet to be seen.

  4. The bottom line of grace, mercy, and the love of Jesus.

  5. Return to my first love, Jesus Christ. Love him for who he is not just what he does.

  6. The groundwork of prayer for building a relationship with God and spiritual warfare.

  7. The support found by being a part of a local group of believers.


Physical Life

  1. The simplicity of a wholesome diet of real foods... not processed junk.

  2. The consumption of clean water as the main means of hydration.

  3. An exercise program to strengthen my back and increase overall flexibility.

  4. Daily quality supplementation for a strong immune system.

  5. Going to bed earlier and getting up earlier.

  6. Focusing on my posture while sitting and walking. (Alignment)

  7. Using natural, toxin free products for cleaning and personal hygiene.


Relationship Life

  1. Love: True love is about putting the other person's needs before my own. Show Christ's love to others by making sacrifices for them.

  2. Forgive: Because God has forgiven me, I too should forgive others. Relationships can stand or crumble depending on my choice to forgive, or not to forgive.

  3. Faithful: To be faithful is to be reliable, unwavering and steadfast.

  4. Understanding: Empathy, holds many relationships together. It allows us to slow down and walk in the shoes of those we love.

  5. Joy: Psalm 37:4 says "take delight in the LORD and He will give you the desires of your heart." Take delight in the LORD and blessings will flow, including blessings in our relationships.

  6. Humility: I'm willing to listen to the opinions and ideas of others. I don’t treat people in a condescending manner and I'm willing to admit when I'm wrong.

  7. Service: The world believes that the way to greatness is to claw your way to the top and step over anyone who gets in your way. Jesus said the opposite is true. The way up is to go low

Horsemanship Life

  1. The fundamental work that will remain with me all the way to the top.

  2. Always let the relationship come first over goals.

  3. Learn to blend and create harmony with the horse. Remember the "ALLOW".

  4. Develop correct posture in rider and horse through relaxation, rhythm, and balance.

  5. Take the time it takes. Always build confidence first.

  6. Give the controlled release. Never release on a brace.

  7. Never put in what you have to take out later.

TO RETURN IS A GIFT

To return is a gift we have all been given as we start the new year.

To return to what we know is right.

To return to the fundamentals that always lead to success.

To return to love, compassion and generosity.

To return to trust in God rather than in our own abilities.


WAIT AND WATCH FOR HIS RETURN


The last reason I chose the word "RETURN" for my 2023 word... is not surprising.

I am waiting and watching for Jesus to return for his bride.

I am not a date setter... But I sure hope it happens in 2023.


In the meantime, I will be about the Father's business as stated above...


But as I work, watch and wait... I can't help but say...

EVEN SO COME LORD JESUS.


I look forward to your RETURN for your bride.

You have been away preparing a place for us...

and I am so excited to see what it looks like.



Scriptures for 2023 about "RETURN":

“Even from the days of your fathers ye are gone away from mine ordinances and have not kept them. Return unto me, and I will return unto you, saith the LORD of hosts. Malachi 3: 7


So is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. Isiah 55:11.


Rend your heart and not your garments. Return to the Lord your God, for he is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love, and he relents from sending calamity. Joel 2:13


And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10:24-25


“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God[a]; believe also in me.2 My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you?3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.4 You know the way to the place where I am going.” John 14: 1-4








40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

20201212_154830[2858] (2).jpg

I believe you must bring your whole self to the table if you want to thrive in today’s crazy world; your personality, your sense of humor, and most importantly, your heart. All of these elements brought me to start Natural Spunk N Shine where I help women in the 2nd half of life, be spunkier,  shine brighter and dream bigger.  Ever since I launched this project, the blog has been thriving and has quickly gained a loyal following. To see what I’ve been up to, browse my site, learn about my passions, and explore what excites and interests you as well.

#SPUNKNSHINE

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page