top of page

Check Your Eyes and Ears



How long has it been since you had your eyes and ears checked?

It’s not that we don’t have ears…it’s that we don’t use them!

It's not that we don't have eyes... it's that our vision is impaired.


We are given eyes and ears for a reason. Whatever we see and hear regularly is what we think, and what we think about is the way we act and what we become.


With the world of social media and TV news channels, movies, etc. our eyes and ears are exposed to so much negativity, deception, hatred, evil, unhealthy, dishonorable things.

Exactly the opposite of what Phillipians 4:8 says we are to think on. "Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things."


It seems a lot of people feel the answer is to jump ship, shut down social media. But I for one see it as a perfect opportunity to be a light in the darkness.

However, I have learned to stay out of arguments on FB posts, because 2 Timothy 2:23 AMP tells us "But have nothing to do with foolish and ignorant speculations [useless disputes over unedifying, stupid controversies], since you know that they produce strife and give birth to quarrels."


I have learned to filter content to protect my heart and reduce my anxiety levels. I am careful what I allow my eyes and ears to see and hear. I don't have my head in the sand, I know what is going on in the world. I want to be informed, but above all I seek TRUTH! And Jesus said, He is the Truth. So if I know Him, I will not be deceived, and I will be FREE indeed!


There are so many gifted and prophetic teachers and preachers with uplifting, hopeful and truth filled messages on social media for us to listen to. They have not been shut off yet.

I suggest we take advantage of and focus on those messages that are still available to us. Ignore all the bickering, because if they don't have anyone to argue with the negativity will decrease.


We have been given ears and eyes, but perhaps all we need is to keep a closer watch over what we hear and how we respond to it.


"The hearing ear and the seeing eye, the Lord has made them both."


There is a difference between having ears and having “ears to hear.”

There are those who let the Word of God pass straight through their ears and those who truly listen and seek understanding.

There are some who do not allow the Word of God to take root because the seduction of worldly pleasures, comfort and safety. Still others reject the Word.

Then there are the ones who hear the Word and open themselves to understand and believe it so that it transforms them.

Those who have “ears to hear” allow the Word to bear fruit in their lives to the glory of God.

It is up to the hearer to decide what you will do with what you hear!


"An intelligent heart acquires knowledge, and the ear of the wise seeks knowledge."


Whenever Jesus says, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear,” He is calling for people to pay careful heed. It’s another way of saying, “Listen up! Pay close attention!”


I am reminded of the children's song "Oh Be careful little eyes what you see, Oh Be careful little ears what you hear, For the Father Up above is looking down with love, Oh be careful little eyes/ears what you see/hear."

It seems pretty simple. Then why do we continue to poison our hearts and minds with the things we ingest through our eyes and ears?


"Your eye is the lamp of your body. When your eye is healthy, your whole body is full of light, but when it is bad, your body is full of darkness."


I want my whole body healthy and full of light. And I want that for you and all those around me. Which is why I will stay on social media and continue to shine the light of Gods' love and truth to build up and edify people, no matter how bleak it seems.


If we all abandon ship then who will be there to be a light in the darkness? No matter how difficult it is, no matter how much we are mocked or persecuted for our faith, we stand strong to bring forth the message of the love the Father has for us on social media and everywhere we go. And that my friend TAKES FAITH!

Where do we get faith? By what we hear!

We must continue to hear the Word and speak it with love to help build up faith in ourselves and to those around us. The world desperately needs to hear and see our faith, whether they know it or not.


"So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ."


In the last days people will grow cold, they will close their ears and eyes to the truth, but there will remain a remnant who will see Jesus and hear his voice and like John they will be a voice crying in the wilderness, they will be lights shining in the darkness for the glory of God.


"For this people's heart has grown dull, and with their ears they can barely hear, and their eyes they have closed, lest they should see with their eyes and hear with their ears and understand with their heart and turn, and I would heal them."


Scripture has always place a premium on hearing God’s voice.

The great command from God through Moses began with the words, “Hear O Israel: The LORD our God is one LORD” (Deuteronomy 6:4 KJV).

Proverbs 8:34 says, “Happy are those who listen to me.”


Jesus urges us to listen like sheep. “The sheep recognize his voice. . .they follow because they’re familiar with the shepherd’s voice” (John 10:3-5).

Each of the seven churches in Revelation is addressed in the same manner: “He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches”


Do you need a hearing check?

Are you listening to the right voices?

Are you a light shining in the darkness?

Do you want to know Jesus? CLICK HERE on my Spirit Horse Retreat Website I share how.


Recent Posts

See All

About Me

20201212_154830[2858] (2).jpg

I believe you must bring your whole self to the table if you want to thrive in today’s crazy world; your personality, your sense of humor, and most importantly, your heart. All of these elements brought me to start Natural Spunk N Shine where I help women in the 2nd half of life, be spunkier,  shine brighter and dream bigger.  Ever since I launched this project, the blog has been thriving and has quickly gained a loyal following. To see what I’ve been up to, browse my site, learn about my passions, and explore what excites and interests you as well.

#SPUNKNSHINE

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page